KU to hold Independence Day Celebration


The teachers, administrative and non-teaching staff of the University of Karachi will celebrate the 72nd Independence Day on Wednesday August 14, 2019 at the ground floor of the New Administration Building KU.

The proceedings of the program will commence from 7:45 am while KU Vice Chancellor Professor Dr Khalid Mahmood Iraqi will hoist the national flag at 8am. He will also address the faculty members, employees and students of KU.

Special prayer for the wellbeing of the nation and the country and people of Kashmir will also be made at the end. Students, who have represented and won laurels for the varsity in different co-curricular competitions nationally and internationally, will be awarded with medals/awards.

The Karachi University bus service (points) will be in operation on August 14 and schedule has already been issued by the KU Transport Department.


KU awards 27 PhD and 20 MPhil and degrees in various disciplines.
The Advanced Studies and Research Board of the University of Karachi, has awarded as many as 49 degrees including 27 PhD, 20 MPhil and two MS (with course work) degrees in various disciplines.
The KU Registrar, Professor Dr Saleem Shahzad, on Thursday said that ASRB in its recently held meeting under the chairmanship of the varsity’s Vice Chancellor, Professor Dr Khalid Mahmood Irqai, awarded these degrees.
According to the KU Registrar, the PhD degrees were awarded to Muhammad Nadeem ul Haque and Shazia Iqbal (Chemistry [HEJ]), Erum Muzaffar (Pakistan Studies), Muhamad Waqar (Quran and Sunnah), Syed Mudassir Hussain Gilani (Agriculture), Muhammad Zohaib (Biochemistry [NCP]), Tehzeeb Sakina, Afreen Faiza and Syeda Tafseer Zahra (Psychology), Faiza Urooj, Sarwat Naz and Ayesha Fareed (Botany), Dr Lubna Raza, Shahid Waheed and Abdullah Ahmad (Food Science and Technology), Bilqees Seema Bhatkali (Mass Communication), Taha Shabbir (European Studies), Rizwan Ahmed and Syed Saifur Rehman (Public Administration), Muhammad Atif Raza Cheema (Pharmacology), Sadia Amber (Applied Chemistry), Saeed Abbas (Zoology), Danish Ali (Pharmaceutics), Abida Hafeez (Applied Economics), Muhammad Kamran Khan (Political Science), Sahir and Uroj Aziz (Marine Biology),
Meanwhile, he mentioned that the MPhil degrees were awarded to Memoona Jahangir, Sania Ajaz and Aleem Ashraf (Clinical Psychology), Nazish Mustafa, Shafaq Javaid, Sadaf, Afshan Shams and Sadaf Baqai (Molecular Medicine), Faiza Seraj, Sana Yaqoob, Naheed Akhtar and Shahid Durani (Chemistry [HEJ]), Khalid Mazhar  (ISPA), Wajid Zaman (Pharmacology) Fakhra Shaheen and Sundas Ali (Chemistry), Fiza Ali (Botany), Uroosa Rasheed and Ayesha Khatoon (Applied Economics), Syed Aqib Ali Zaidi (Biotechnology [KIBGE]).
Furthermore, Zahid Zulfiqar and Shuaib Ahmed of Islamic History were awarded with the MS (with course work) degrees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here